Love and romance, expectations vs reality!

Number 2…
So I promised a new blog post this evening, and I know exactly what I want to say, it’s just finding the appropriate way to get my point across without sounding like a total fool (which I undoubtedly am!)

There are many different types of girls in this world, but me, well, I am a hopeless romantic!! And a traditional girl at heart. Basically, a 1950’s housewife in the year 2013. Now I’m not saying that this is what I think all women should be like (no sir!!) it’s just who I seem to have grown up to be.
My ideal life would be simple. All I want is a nice house, white wedding, and a healthy happy family. With me being a good wife and mother looking after my husband and children. Then comes the ‘hopeless romantic’ part, and this is where my reality becomes warped with ideas of romance that just don’t seem obtainable in modern life.
I’m very lucky to have a wonderful man in my life. Our relationship is easy, we laugh together, we are so relaxed with one another and I utterly adore him. But the poor man has to put up with a heck of a lot from this girl!
I long for romance daily! Flowers, long kisses in the rain, dancing in a flowing ball gown, small birds and deer helping me dress in the morning, magic carpet rides… Oh hang on. I seemed to have slipped into Disney mode. And I think that is part of the problem!!
Oh how I envy those princesses. Imagine being so adored by one man that he sends out a search party through the whole kingdom to find you, with only a shoe to determine the lucky lady. Or imagine being so lovely and kind that you manage to change the attitude and emotions of an actual beast, all in the name of love. Or imagine having a man who is prepared to fight a sorcerer who has turned himself into a giant snake in order to free you from a sand timer that’s going to drown you with sand….
Gosh damn you Disney!!!
And it’s not just Disney, I watch other films, read books, see magazines with loved up celebrities, hear songs of people declaring undying love for the person they are with.
I long for that endless romance, to be constantly adored and to be so wonderful in my mans eyes that no one else will ever do. But to be fair, this is completely unrealistic, I know it is! (But it doesn’t stop me wanting it!)
I also feel bad for the pressure put upon, not only my man, but on countless guys across the world. Yes, I’m talking about the “W” word.
(Cue countless guys quaking in fear!)
Yes, Wedding.
Every day, I am unfortunate in the fact that my journey to work takes me past not just one, but two bridal shops. So every morning I crane my neck to see what new additions have been added to the window, just incase I may ever need to know. Yes I want to get married, I have it all in my head, the colour schemes, the seating plan…. And my poor man is totally aware of this!! He is a brave fella, his way of coping is to joke about it. Which is a great coping mechanism. I honestly believe that no one should ever be pressured into something as huge as that….. But just incase he ever does decide he wants to, I’ll be ready!!

I love love. I love being in love. But sometimes I get caught up in the notion of it all, and i find that sometimes media, films, books etc make me feel less contented with type of love I have. Not for rational reasons either. I am so lucky to have someone who loves me, and yeah, he’s not that romantic, but he is a wonderful man. Thoughtful, handsome, calming, and attentive. But not romantic.

I wish I wasn’t a hopeless romantic. I wish I didn’t care about that sort of thing.
But this hopeless romantic will never change.

Leave a Reply

